Grandma Elsie

My grandma Elsie is going to heaven soon.

My parents told me on Monday that she is getting very weak, and this week has been up and down.  Last night I looked through some of the old family pictures I have here and came across a treasure on a yellowed sheet of paper.

In my Grandma’s own hand, a poem.

I dreamt death came the other night
And Heaven’s gate swung wide.
An angel with halo bright
Ushered me inside.

And there! To my astonishment,
Stood folks I’d judged and labeled.
As quite unfit, of little worth
And spiritually disabled.

Indignant words rose to my lips,
But never were set free.
For every face showed surprise –
Not one expected me!

Grandma has been quite confused for the last 10 years or such, so it was such a blessing to see her thoughts, recorded long ago, about her looking forward to Heaven.

3 responses to “Grandma Elsie

  1. pretty cool.

  2. THE old farmer

    AMEN

  3. I posted the scans of the poem

    Scan10002

    Scan10003

Leave a Reply

