Sorry ladies, not open yet.

This morning we ran into town to run a few errands before work.  I made a haircut appointment and then hopped across the street to the shoe shop.  I had dropped a handbag off a few days back to get its strap shortened and wanted to pick it up.

The cobbler must have been just opening up for the day, as he unlocked the door and antoher customer and I walked in behind him.  He left his keys in the door, which I thought was odd.  He ran behind the counter, did something with one of the machines and then said.  “Oh, sorry ladies, I’m not open right now.  I’m trying to break into one of the shops down the street”  The cobbler also cuts keys, you see.  As I left the shop he ran past me, towards the corner where a number of people were standing around looking bemused.  Never a dull moment in town.

Leave a Reply

