Switzerland IV – Paul Klee

After the morning at the Transport Museum, I explored Luzern while Sarah got about some important shopping. The Rosengart Collection featuring Paul Klee (and Pablo Picaso) was my main stop. No, not that Paul Klee; the Swiss painter Paul Klee. I had never known anything about him before this trip, but Rick Steves gave him high praise so I decided to have a go. I was shocked. As a child I enjoyed color gradients and placing sections of similar colors next to each other. So did Paul Klee. I fancied assymetry. So did Paul Klee. I liked disembodied figures. So did Paul Klee. Paul Klee painted what I would have painted if I had artistic talent, but he did it half a century before I was born. Amazing!

Here is Paul Klee’s Head of Man, Going Senile from 1922.

Here is my computer-generated Hi Vern from 1991. I think the similarity to Klee’s Head of Man is obvious. Don’t you?

4 responses to “Switzerland IV – Paul Klee

  1. Sweet! Is “Hi Vern” Windows 3.0 Paintbrush art? :-)

  2. The Schrockinator

    Hmmm, I think it was done in Paint Shop Pro.

  3. Steve, we now know why you don’t get to guest post very often. You will have much to teach young Raul.

Leave a Reply

